9:27 p.m. - September 11, 2002

Sept. 11th...wow, it's been a full year since that monumental tragedy that changed virtually everyones life. Time certainly does fly.

I was reading various opinions [not journalists or politicians, just regular Joes] regarding 9/11 today on the internet [in diaryland actually], and someone said something that kinda struck me as true, yet I couldn't help feeling shitty for kinda agreeing with the guy. He said something to the effect of, normally people [new yorkers in particular] hate fellow new yorkers, they want to get to where they are going, they are all caught up in the hustle and bustle of life, and work, and whatever it is they do daily....and in the days following 9/11/01 strangers suddenly felt like it was ok to talk to fellow strangers, they felt as though it was ok, and acceptable to hug a stranger. Even homeless folks were even noticed as human beings....but eventually everything will [probably already did] go back to the way it was, cutting people off on the roads, giving others the finger, and yelling obsenities out of cab windows, etc...etc...What happend to those kind "strangers"? It took a tragedy of that magnitute to bring mankind together....why can't we always feel as though it's ok to say "hello, how are you?" to someone you pass on the street? Man, it's really weird...I guess I just expect too much from the rest of the world.

But I digress.....

I was sick, sick, sick all friggin' day long. The dizziness was gone, but the nausea was ever previlent.

I was at vons tonight, buying stuff that I felt as though I absolutely had to have tonight [ie: corn dogs, smart ones chocolate cakes, crystal light and rice crispies], and I saw the cutest mom and baby! I just got all warm and fuzzy, and tears welled up in my eyes [over-productive hormones]. The baby was soooooo excited to be in the shopping cart, his mom was picking out veggies, and he was kicking and talking, and smiling like crazy everytime she looked at him....he even gave me goo goo eyes. Anyhow, I saw them in another isle later, and she was kinda singing a little song to him quitely as she was pushing him..and he was so happy. I just thought it was cute. It's a hell of a lot better to see that sort of stuff then to see screaming kids on the ground, kicking and crying...UGH, it's episodes like that that almost make me not want kids. But, it's going to be great! It's going to be super cool.

Monday we went to the County Clerks office and bought our marriage license. Now, mind you it isn't valid yet...but, it will be come Saturday! Yes, friends, you read right, this saturday I will be married. Oh, jeeze, things are happening so fast. We are just going to go to the courthouse, and have a judge marry us..I think C's parents are going to be there as witnesses. Then, on November 16th, we will have a reception dinner, with my family, Cory's family, and all our best buddies. That should be fun. Apparently this judge begins marrying people at 9 a.m...and it's first come, first serve...like McDonalds or something. I wanted to do it this way though, less hassle..and I need to get on his insurance policy pronto.

Ok kids......more as it happends.



previous >> next

Big Sandy Miss Ray Gun The Barrel Dodgers Font Diner TV Land