11:37 a.m. - October 15, 2003

I'm trying to figure out how I feel about the grocery str1ke. Yesterday I NEEDED groceries badly. So, I packed up the baby (which is nooo small task) into the car and headed to Ra1ph's, not realizing the workers were on str1ke. I get there and the p1cketers say, "please don't cross our p1cket line"...they then proceed to tell me that they are being denied their premium free family health care. Not one car was in the parking lot and I would have felt horrible if I ignored them and went in. they then told me that V0ns and A1bersons were also on str1ke. Damn it! I packed the baby in the car again (each time I take her out of her carseat and put her back in she hates it and fusses) and head to Tr@der J0es. They are out of EVERYTHING! I buy what I can then make another trip across town to F00d 4 less...OMG! What a fucked up store that is...I used to shop at F00d 4 l when I lived in slo and I loved it. The one in 0xnard is horrible. the carts are so heavy that you can barely steer them plus they have no seat belt in the baby seat..so I had to hold onto her the whole time. Again, they were out of most things, I mean come on...all they had was whole milk. The isles were tiny and the store was absolutely packed with people. I spent half a day going from store to store, driving at least 20 miles, to avoid the stores that are being unfair to their employees. I don't mean to sound heartless, but I've NEVER in my life worked for a company who gave me free health care. I've always paid a premium...and I've always lived paycheck to paycheck. Does it make sense that I should spend way more money on groceries than I ordinarily would if I were to shop at R@lphs just to help these workers out? Personally, I'm fed up with it, and I am just as hard up for money as they are...Where am I going with this? I basically think it's wrong for the p1cketers to get in peoples faces and strong arm them to keep them out of the store, when they really have no clue what the customers reason is for ignoring their p1cket signs. My reasons are as follows: I have a 5% savings certificate for R@lphs and I am a major coupon clipper (never used to be, but am now), and they give you double coupon savings..so you see, it's not that I don't care about other peoples hard luck, it's just that I think it's fucked that they try to make me feel guilty (which I do) just because I need to get the cheapest prices for food, and I need to stay in my own neighborhood to shop in light of the miles between my house and the only other stores around that aren't p1cketing.

Aside from being annoyed, and possibly selfish, everything is going well. L0la now has 5 teeth...and she is doing great w/ sleeping and eating and everything else I was dreading.

That's all for today..

xo



previous >> next

Big Sandy Miss Ray Gun The Barrel Dodgers Font Diner TV Land