4:05 p.m. - October 24, 2003

ok, what was supposed to be an afternoon out w/ a couple of girlfriends, turned into an afternoon of waiting for L0la to wake up from an unusually long nap! the morning/afternoon unfolded as follows.

9:30 am I receive a call from one of my friends informing me that she will be calling me within a half an hour to make some plans. By the time 11:00 rolled around and I still hadn't heard from her I put the baby down for a much needed nap. 12 noon rolls around, and still no call. "are they dogging me" goes through my head...ha, the insecure voice in my head is very outspoken. So I call her:

me: "what's up?"

her: "J just got here and we are leaving in 5 minutes. Meet us at Bab1es R us so that I can register early" (she's preggo)

me: "see ya there"

Meanwhile I'm waiting for L0la to wake up from her nap. Her naps are typically 45 minutes at the most. One o'clock rolls around, the baby is still sawing logs, then 1:30 comes up, still sleeping. Then I get a call.

her: "where are you?"

me: "home!! waiting for the girl to wake her ass up"

her: "well, we're done. meet us for lunch."

me: "ok"

FINALLY she wakes up, and it's nearly 2:00. By the time we got ready and walked out the door it's after 2, and I have a 20 minute drive ahead of me. I call from the road.

me: "hey, I'm almost there. what is your status?"

her: "we are done eating."

me: "crap".

So I arrive about 15 minutes before they leave. J's baby is crying and so over it all, she wants her crib. I have a glass of water and leave.

What a shitty afternoon. the best part about it was L0la's long nap. I swear, sometimes I feel like I've got nothing in common with ANYONE (except for cory and l0la).There was a few moments of silence over "lunch", which is highly unusual. One of the girls and I were pregnant together, but before that we hardly knew each other at all. We worked together briefly., and since we were both preg we got to know each other better...but now, I just feel like we no longer have the time and energy to put into anything except for our girls. Ugh, motherhood is certainly a huge sacrafice. but worth it all.

xo



previous >> next

Big Sandy Miss Ray Gun The Barrel Dodgers Font Diner TV Land