8:51 a.m. - October 17, 2002

Thursday morning. What will I do today? Gosh, I'm getting lazier & more unmotivated by the day it seems.

Last nite we went to Zoeys to watch, um, or rather, "make an appearance" as Cory says, The Tatters. My only reason for being there was to eat [I had a glorified ham sammy and a ceaser salad], because I can't stand the Tatters. They are nice folks, but their music bores me to tears. But to my surprise the opening act was spectacular! It was a guy named Eugene Edwards. Seems as though he's a solo artist, but it's hard to tell at Zoeys on acoustic night...for about 3 or 4 songs it was just Eugene...very cute boy, and then he brought up a stand up bass player. His name escapes me at the moment, but he has played with the likes of Mike Ness, Deke Dickerson and the LUcky Stars [or something like that], so needless to say he was quite impressive. I just loved them!! Then when the dreaded Tatters came on, I of course was respectful, and stayed as long as I could possible stand it, which was about 4 songs. We then slipped out,and I immediately looked up Eugene Edwards on the net...naturally his website sucks..and isn't very informative. Blah. Which leads me to believe that he is not dating or isn't married to a web designer. :)

That was my evening. Oh, and then Cory and I sat in the home office trying desperately to name the best ALL TIME vocalists EVER...Now, the tricky part is we need GREAT SINGERS...no unique singers, or superb artists....we are just singling out the folks with undeniably great vocal abilities. Boy, that list was sooo hard! First we started discussing best singers of the 80's, then it turned into all time. So far I only have about 6 people on it.

Elvis is one of them, naturally. Patsy Cline made the cut too. I don't think anyone can argue those voices. Then it got tricky. I said George Michael...C wasn't convinced 100%, but I added him anyway. We both agreed to adding Dean Martin., but we struggled with Frank Sinatra. Michael Jackson made the cut, as did Stevie Wonder.....We both wanted to add Willie Nelson, but I'm not so sure his vocals are 'UNDENIABLY' worthy..to me they are, but then I wonder if I would agree if I stepped out of myself and heard Willie Nelson sing for the first time right now..it's a hard call!!!!

Well, if you want to offer any suggestions for my all time best vocalists list, please do so. But remember, these talented folks are going on voices ALONE, not writing ability, or unique vocal ability...Wow, this is tough.

Gotta go and eat some ceral, it isn't good for me to have an empty stomach for any long periods of time.

Just thought of another one..Peggy Lee



previous >> next

Big Sandy Miss Ray Gun The Barrel Dodgers Font Diner TV Land