3:13 p.m. - 2002-07-11

SHAME ON ME!

Friends, I am a loser. I stayed home from work today because I drank one too many Tecates last night. DARN ME! I'm beating myself up about it, because I am trying so hard to be a good little employee, and get ahead, or rather catch up, on my projects. Oh, not to mention I went to the Rev last night with a girl I work with, not that she will "tell" anyone, it's just that she's probably thinking to herself, "what a loser Jen is".

tee hee!

Anyway, enough of the self mutilation.

Here is how the evening unfolded. Cory bought a 30 pack of Tecate. A girl from work and her man came over, they too contributed a 6 pack of Tecates to the stash. Next Pat and his gal came over...of course being the lovely man Pat is, he didn't contribute any beer...hehe, it's just as well, we had too many! Ok, so we sat around for about an hour and a half., just talking and drinking, and listening to music....OH, and then Cory and Pat proceeded to tell the girl I work with that I was dancing on the seats at a Brian Setzer show at the S.B. Bowl...I never danced on seats! I'm surprised they didn't tell her I had a lamp shade on my head too! They made me seem like a wild indian. Oh well, may as well let all your dirty laundry hang out right away -- come right out of the shoot, exposed. Yea, right!

We get to the venue, and it was kind of dead, and Nashville Pussy was in mid set. The way the Ventura theater is set up is neat. It's an old movie theater or something, and there is a balcony and very high, cathedral, painted ceilings. The crowd was so thin last night that they shut off the balcony.....I'm telling you it was DEAD! We refuse to spend money at the bar there (Unless it's a show that excites us sooo much, that we can't help it)...They charge $8 for a Bass! BITCH!

We got in there, and as usual the sound sucked..so, we watched Nashville Pussy do their thing (all gimicks, which I personally don't understand, and do not have an appreciation for, but more power to them I guess)...actually, the blond girl with all the hair on guitar makes that band. Not that she is all that great of a guitar player, but she's got alot of charisma, and she has chosen a theme, and stuck with it, regardless of trends. But I digress...

We got a little tired of standing around, not drinking, and watching N.P. So, Cory asked the PIECE OF SHIT at the door if we could leave and come back. (Cory knows that dude, and he is a jerk, and has been since day one, that's why I speak harshly..) The dude said "OK, as long as you don't go to sans souci" ...that is the dive bar directly across the street. How can you tell people they can leave, and regulate as to where they can go? Jeeze. Well, he did it, and we were obediant! hehe. Not at first though, we tried the back door of Sans Souci, and it was locked. We then walked down Main St. for a spell, and saw a tiny little bar located in the back of a Thai restaurant. We went in, and asked the guy if we could order a drink. He said, "last call" and was sort of rude. Between the 2 of us we ordered 4 Coronas. Cory and I then got into this discussion about having no more patience for rude individuals anymore. which means, that from that moment forward, we will NEVER tolorate rudeness again..assuming we have some control over the situation. But we've also decided that if (that's a big IF, for Ventura, in my experience) we come across nice people, we are going to say, "I really appreciate the fact that you are so helpful, nice,..." etc, whatever applies. I was saying that people in record stores around here have a tendancy to be rude, except for this FABULOUS guy who works at and owns Beat City. I will now give him (Hepcat, and CD NOw) all of my business! Sorry for straying so much with this story kids......

Ok, so we go back to the Theatre, and walk in .... N.P. is off, and The Rev isn't on yet. We ran into a couple of dudes Cory knows..and chatted with them.....yadda yadda yadda...then the Reverand came on. It was too loud and too muddy to really be able to appreciate it. I respect what the Rev does, and has been doing forever, but when I go to one of their shows at the Ventura Theatre my expectations are always sort of low, and that's precisely what they deliver..so I never leave disappointed. Just once I would love to have the opportunity to see these boys somewhere else!! Somewhere smaller, with a good sound system. At any rate, it was fun, and the man and I had some great conversations.

Just today......GRRRRR. Today I had to go and fuck up by not being able to go to work!! My priorities are usually very in order, but sometimes I lose my head a little...Afterall, I'm just a girl.

I guess that's it for now. I tried taking pictures, but my camera died on me! The battery I think.

Xoxo



previous >> next

Big Sandy Miss Ray Gun The Barrel Dodgers Font Diner TV Land