9:10 a.m. - 2002-05-04

noteworthy event:

I got the most adorable email this morning in response to my post on the various R*AB groups looking for B*ig S*andy pictures. It was from a guy in Japan! and here is what it said (verbatim):

Hello!

I have only this phot.(02'3.19 at Bowlrama in Hollywood)

Sorry!!!!!!

Whold you tell me your H.P.

Whold you like look my H.p & My friend band SANDRADEE!!!!!!

I'm Japanese.

I like BIgsandy.

Gchoise

Tee Hee! Ok, now the reason I find it so goddamn endearing is because he's plugging his own RAB band (I think?) and at the end he says "I like B*ig Sandy"..I just think it's awesome that people from all over the world are digging a music (western swing/rockabilly) that is as american as apple pie! I dig the response I've been getting. Oh, I also got ALOT of pictures from a guy in Germany..and he told me about a magazine he publishes that is dedicated to roots/rockabilly/1950's and 1940's AMERICAN music. I guess there is no denying a good thing, no matter what your culture.

I am totally open to music.., but one thing I have closed the door on is all popular music, ie: the music that has major airplay, mainstream, I guess. Reason being is because it has proven time and time again that most of it is spineless, over-produced, shit music, that someone behind the scenes wrote, so that a more "marketable" person can perform it. It is garbage...I must say that there are some bands that are in heavy rotation that are talented. I can't think of them just yet...

Oh, J*ack Johnson, he rocks. I am not sure how "mainstream" he is, as I do not listen to radio AT ALL. But, I heard of him through some friends of mine who live and die by what is popular at the moment, and what is being played on MTV. (another piece of shit media, that I want no part of). Hmmm, maybe I am not as open to music as I originally thought??

At any rate.., this is my morning rant, and I am done! Time to eat some toast.

xoxo

Oh, for the record: last night, cory and I ate at Eric Ericksons, on the pier, drank a blended margarita., yum. then met todd and ahna at charthouse, I've never been, it was neat-0. Again, I had a "girly drink" which is SOOOOO unlike me. I had 2 lovely drinks, 1 Mia tie (sp?) and 1 Pina Colada..again, so unlike me. I am typically a jack, guiness, martini drinking mama. Oh well, maybe I was feeling all prissy last night. :)

xoxo AGAIN.



previous >> next

Big Sandy Miss Ray Gun The Barrel Dodgers Font Diner TV Land