10:27 a.m. - 2002-04-13

I am so hung over today. I think it's a hang over. Although, I only drank 3 friggin' drinks last night. give me a break! I have knocked back an entire 12 pack before, and been fine the next day. Hmm, makes me wonder.

We went to the hong kong inn last night for cocktails. Considering this town is full of hell's angels, derelicts and testosterone pumped dudes, always half cocked & ready for a fight, we have ran out of bars to frequent. So this hong kong inn is about 3 blocks from my house, and we kind of figured, what the hell, let's give it a shot. WOW, was it ever fun!! Every Friday and Saturday night they have a P*olynesian R*eview complete with a very entertaining band, hula chicks, and cheesy people who try to take center stage and become their inner rockstar. this place is so old school, bamboo on the walls, all this old tiki stuff, plush red booths, not to mention the old school guys who tend the bar. The drinks were incredibly strong, which I didn't complain about at the time. it was a trip how they made the whiskey sours (which is what we ordered), instead of putting them in a low ball, he put them in a fancy kind of a wine glass but with alot of curves. anyway, he put the whiskey (jack) and the sweet and sour on ice, as per usual, but then suddenly he placed the glass under an old school malt mixer, and mixed them up until they were frothy, almost tropical looking!! They looked completely different then they tasted!! At that point I almost wished they were a sweet, tropical drink. But, oh well, whiskey it was.

We all walked back to my place, parted ways, and my boy and I hung out for about another hour,then went to bed.

Now today I'm paying the price.

We are supposed to go to the harbor this afternoon to watch a band called the p*hanton r*iders, they are a really cool surf/rockabillyish band from v*entura. and then tonight we are going to my boys' parents house for a music party. Music parties are a tradition in his family. It is were all there old muscian friends (and some not-so-old) get together, sit around in a huge circle, drink, play music and sing. it's pretty fun., although I really think I would have a much better time if I could play an instrument.:( I tried my hand at guitar, mandolin, piano, and who knows what else I've picked up, but I never stick to it, so I've never gotten good at anything. So, I just shake an egg or a tamborine!

Pardon my ramblin'....this is a damn long entry.



previous >> next

Big Sandy Miss Ray Gun The Barrel Dodgers Font Diner TV Land