8:56 p.m. - October 20, 2002

hiya.sunday nite.already. bah!

didn't do a whole lot this weekend, first off because I was pretty sick yesterday, and second off, cause everything I want to do requires money. so, I'm better off staying at home.

C and I did go to Michaels yesterday to buy the things we needed for our "wedding" cake. We bought 4 [if memory serves me correct] round cake pans, a few piping thingies to decorate, and a couple of boxes of this stuff called "fondent". for those of you who do not know what fondent is, it's quite amazing. it is a sugary "dough" like substance that you roll out flat [as if you were making a pizza] and lay it on top of a cake, at which time it curiously takes on the shape of the cake. it looks like a PERFECTLY frosted cake..not even frosted, almost looks like plastic. really hard to explain, but pretty neat non-the-less. So we spent much of last night and today in the kitchen making some practice cakes. we made a small one and a large one, but didn't stack them. on the practice run we opted to use a box cake [chocolate, what else?], and I made up a very simple butter cream frosting and a cream cheese frosting. visually, the cakes turned out splendidly, but the taste is still in question. you see, the texture of this fondent stuff is very much like dough, and I just can't warm up to that. I personally am a huge fan of frosting, the sweeter the better. So it's still up for debate as to how this cake will ultimately be prepared. I will post pictures of the cake tomorrow, C did such a great job with the decorating!

Early this evening we went to the beach to look at the waves. C decided not to surf, cause he felt like it was too cold outside, and the waves just weren't good enough to bare the cold and the hassle. so we ended up taking Harley down to the water...he was hilarious., he just wanted to snatch up anything and everything that he could. he grabbed about 100 pieces of seaweed and ripped them to shreds, he grabbed clam shells, crab shells and rocks...and he was digging like crazy in the sand. i tell you, it was a scream.

tonight I made dinner. and it actually came out pretty good. chicken, with a little of this and a little of that [italian-ish flair], brown rice and cauliflower...not bad.

oh, we rented a few movies this weekend too. all of them were winners. Monsters, Inc. [adorable!!], Shawshank Redemption [I'm a nerd, I've not seen it before last night! I loved it!!!!], Wag The Dog [always good fun] and Office Space [not my fav, but had a few great scenes!]....I was so incredibly stoked to finally get a good batch of movies from the cornor blockbuster...

well, this entry is trailing off into no-man's land, so I better end it before I put myself to sleep.

Nighty Night.



previous >> next

Big Sandy Miss Ray Gun The Barrel Dodgers Font Diner TV Land